NaBloPoMo and NaNoWriMo

Naw Blow Poe Mo?

Nah Blow Pomo?

Naa–Oh screw it. I have no clue how you’re supposed to say it.

NaNoWriMo is infinitely easier to say.

I can’t believe it’s already already! It’s already been an entire year since I tried NaNoWriMo last time in 2011 (and failed, miserably). Time really flies. I still have all my notes of my characters and all of the different, neverending versions of my plot. Good god. What is this? Did I really draw out three pages of different battle and war plans? And what’s this? Yet another completely different plot remaking? And a detailed map of an entire two continents with all rivers and mountains colored in…No wonder I failed so miserably last time.

I learned a lot from last year’s NaNoWriMo, and I hope to learn from my mistakes. Hopefully, I’ll learn my lesson this time and restrain myself adequately to finish one of my novel ideas completely. I’ve realized now that the original novel plot I had in mind, was actually not one, but at least three separate books focused on three separate main characters altogether. What’s even more interesting is that once I’ve managed to separate the plots and characters to see them as they are, I’ve realized that some of the plots are of completely different genres as well. What was I thinking?

Essentially, what I was trying to do last year was the combination of the plots of a female young adult fantasy novel with an epic adult fantasy novel (male-oriented). If a novel were a food entree, then I was basically trying to slather a slice of bloody rib-eye with rich maple syrup.

This year, I don’t have much time, so meeting the quota is going to be tough. But I’m still gonna get as close as I can get. I’ll be trying out NaBloPoMo (I still have no clue how to say it…) as well to keep track of my writing, and get started on this “blogging” thing.

It’s the first day, I know, but I haven’t been able to get started on my novel yet. Unfortunately, life has prevented me from touching it at all today, but I’ll be getting started on it tomorrow. Meanwhile, I must decide on a plot!

So, what are you all writing for this year’s NaNoWriMo or NaBloPoMo? I’d love to find fellow writers to chat or do sprints with, so just shoot me a message anytime. 🙂

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo and NaNoWriMo

  1. Hi there! Today I decided to give NaNoWriMo a try too. It’s my first time and I’ll be writing a middle grade fantasy. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your NaNoWriMo experience. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

